2017 Federal Holidays


The following legal public holidays are observed by the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals:

Federal law (5 U.S.C. 6103) establishes the following public holidays for Federal employees. Please note that most Federal employees work on a Monday through Friday schedule. For these employees, when a holiday falls on a nonworkday -- Saturday or Sunday -- the holiday usually is observed on Monday (if the holiday falls on Sunday) or Friday (if the holiday falls on Saturday).

New Year’s Day - Sunday, January 2 

Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr.  - Monday, January 16

Washington’s Birthday - Monday, February 20*

Memorial Day - Monday, May 29

Independence Day -  Tuesday, July 4

Labor Day - Monday, September 4

Columbus Day - Monday, October 9

Veterans Day - Friday, November 10

Thanksgiving Day - Thursday, November 23

Christmas Day - Monday, December 25

* This holiday is designated as "Washington’s Birthday" in section 6103(a) of title 5 of the United States Code, which is the law that specifies holidays for Federal employees. Though other institutions such as state and local governments and private businesses may use other names, it is our policy to always refer to holidays by the names designated in the law.